Wooden Fletcher Class Destroyer

For some reason I decided to make a wooden model ship of the US WW2 Fletcher class destroyer.  I attribute it to reading Sea of Thunder.  I used 1:350 scale like those used with some plastic models.

I looked around online for some drawings of the ship and stumbled across a picture on shipbucket.com that I liked.  It seems to be gone due to some changes on photobucket’.

The drawing had some profile lines for the hull which I tried to use.  I glued the profiles to the wood to aid in cutting on the bandsaw. I cut out the hull from one side, taped the pieces back together, and then cut out the top.    Next, I used rasps and a sander to finish off the hull.The ship’s structure using 1/4″ thick strips.  Once again, I glued the drawings to the wood to use as templates. I cut out multiple pieces to build up all the parts and used nails as the gun barrels.   It turned out that making everything was the quick part.  I ended up spending the next week getting all of the parts (mostly the hull) painted.  I went with the Measure 22 camouflage scheme which used haze gray on horizontal surfaces and a navy blue on the top surfaces.  Light gray and dark gray paints which I already had around were pretty close. Painting the hull was the hardest part of the project.  It required red, black, light gray, and dark gray stripes.  I masked the hull off and slowly got it painted.

For a mast, I glued together some thin steel rod I had laying around.  I assembled it over sized and then trimmed it down as required.  With everything finally painted, I was able to assemble it.

I thought I’d see if it floated….nope.  Well, technically it did float. It just wanted to capsize.  Oh well.  Maybe the Yorktown next!

 

This entry was posted in Projects, Woodworking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

