Armstrong C Clamps

I was at a local store the other day that has used tools and ran across some C clamps.  Not regular C clamps though.  Massive ones.  They’re don’t have the largest capacity that I’ve seen but they’re tops when it comes to girth.  They were a good price and I had to bring them home.  They were a little rusty but still moved fine.   They’re Armstrong model number 78-080 and are listed as the “strongest C-Clamp produced.”  I’m not sure if that is overall or just by them.  They have a capacity of  2.25″-8.25″ and weigh in at 27.5 lbs a piece.  According to the literature they have a proof test of 31,250 lbf which is something I’m sure I’ll need.  Here’s a pic of them as purchased.  The table they’re laying on is 30″x20″.

BC1

To clean them up, I hit them with the wire wheel.  I figure there’s not much chance I can hurt them.  They wire wheel is quick and leaves a finish ready for oiling.

BC2

I’m sure there are lots of reasons for me to own a couple 30 lb C clamps.  Perhaps I’ll need to press something together that requires more force than my arbor press can deliver.  Perhaps they’ll be useful on those big welding jobs I have.  Just look how useful they could be.

BC3

On second thought, maybe I’ll just curl them during downtime in the garage.

 

This entry was posted in Tools, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

