Three Phase Transformer

I was finally able to track down a three phase transformer that was near me.  This will allow me to convert three phase 240V to three phase 480 volt required by the mill and lathe.  Though I only need a 6KVA transformer this one is 11KVA.  Usually bigger is better, but if I get too large of a transformer it will pop the breaker.  I should be ok with this one though.

It’s used but still checks out well with an ohm meter to check continuity.  I’m not able to test it yet since I haven’t made a rotary converter yet.  That will be happening soon.  Here it is.  It even comes with a “this can kill you” sticker.

TR1

 

Here’s a closer pic of the tag if you’re interested.TR2

This is what’s inside.  Basically, it’s three iron bars wrapped in wire.

TR3

One step closer to getting the mill going!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

