Fritz-Werner Mill

There’s not much out there on my mill.  So, I thought I’d post up some pics and very top level description of the mill.

The day after getting the mill I moved it into my garage.  I used the engine crane again to slowly walk it into the garage.  The machine is pretty greasy which is actually a benefit as it keeps the rust from getting a good foothold.  The handwheel on top facing the camera is for slowly moving the quill down while the lever moves it down quickly.  The other handwheels adjust the mill and feed speeds.  The lower handwheels move the table in and out and side to side.  The lower large crank moves the table up and down.  There’s a host of smaller levers under the table that I’m still not sure what they do.

I think I have about 17″ of left to right movement along the X axis and about 10″ of in and out movement along the Y axis.  On the Z axis, I think I have about 18″ of movement though I haven’t run the knee all the way up and down.

FW1

Here’s a closer view of the handwheel that adjusts the mill’s speed.  Turning the handwheel rotates the RPM numbers in the window indicating speed.

FW2

Moving down the neck on the right side is a nice chart showing feeds and speeds.  All of the values are based on 50hz AC electricity and I’ll be running 60hz.  As a result,  it won’t be correct and I’ll have to come up with a new chart.

FW3

 

Further down is the handwheel for adjusting the table feed rate.  Once again, rotating the handwheel changes the numbers in the window.FW4

Lower on the left hand side shows the X axis handwheel and Z axis crank.  I believe there is a reservoir in the base for coolant that the little pump on the back of the base pumps up to the work.FW5

It occurred to me that a pallet jack would make moving the machines much easier.  I looked on Craigslist and found a great deal on one.  It makes moving the machines almost effortless.  I lifted the mill up with the engine crane onto blocks to enable me to slip the forks under it.  FW6

I rearranged most of my garage over the weekend and moved the mill near its final spot.  I left it a ways out from the wall to permit easy access while I work on it.  In the future, I may move it back some.  I’ve also started cleaning the grease off it.  At some point it was hit with a thin coat of gray spray paint which is now flaking off.  Under it is a more durable tealish gray color.FW6a

I was wondering what was under all the doors and panels.  I took off the vented cover on the left side to reveal the large motor and some belts.

FW7

Midways up the left side is another access panel which allows you to get at the feed belt.

FW8

On the back top of the neck is another panel that gives access to the top of the belts.FW9

Closer to the head, on the top of the neck, is another panel.  I expected to open it up and view the gears in the head.  Instead I was greeted with yarn.  I’m assuming this area would hold oil that would wick down the yarns into the inside of the neck proving lubrication. FW10

Over on the right side is the electrical panel.  I’m not 100% sure what the white things are.  They unscrew like a lightbub but have a post protruding from the base.  I think they’re some kind of fuse.  FW11

On the inside of the electrical panel’s door is a nice electrical schematic.  #18 and 20 look like fuses.FW12

The table and other unfinished surfaces cleaned up pretty well.FW13

I’ve still got a lot of cleaning to do and am still looking for the components I need to power it.

This entry was posted in Metalworking, Tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fritz-Werner Mill

  1. johnf says:

    Very nice. I o0nce had a milling machine delivered off a lorry with a Hiab arm. The mill was lowered onto a pallet. It was moved using a pallet truck. It was left on the pallet. I think lots of these machines were made when men were not as tall as they are now. And it is more convenient for many people to have the machine lifted up. My lathe is on blocks as well.
    john f

Leave a Reply

