Hendey Lathe Disassembly: Part 2

I’ve been steadily working on taking the lathe apart.  Here are some pics of my progress.

There’s a set of gears on most lathes called the “Back Gears” which give you a really slow spindle speed.  I’m taking them off on mine. They’re pressed together and held in place with set screws.  I uncovered several oil holes on here as well.

H40

The compound is held on by a couple of T bolts.

H41

There’s a couple of smooth rods on the front of the lathe that control feed direction.  Both run though the apron so I started looking into removing them.  The lower rod is held on by a couple of brackets which have screws mostly covered in gunk.

H42

I couldn’t get the chuck to break loose.  I decided to separate the chuck from the backplate and start pulling the spindle.  I’ll soak the back plate and cross my fingers that that will weaken the hold.

H43

After a little bit of work it came loose.  It looks pretty good as far as I can tell.

H44

The bearings in the head stock also look pretty good.

H45

Once  the spindle was out, I removed the head stock casting.   That gave me access to the crank which controls feed direction.  The two lower arms go to the two smooth rods and the top C piece connects to a clutch in the head stock.H46

I used my engine crane to remove the apron and carriage.  I slid it off the end of the lathe using some straps with Cordura coverings I made for them.  Hopefully, any sharp edges will wear on the Cordura instead of the straps.

H47

The apron is attached to the carriage by four screws.  With them removed I was able to take the apron over to the bench. H49

After a bit of work I had the apron disassembled so I could inspect and clean.

H50

The carriage was also disassembled for cleaning.

H51

The last screw in the compound was very stubborn and didn’t want to be removed.  As opposed to drilling it out, I left it in place since it wasn’t that important to get it out.H52

This is the bottom of the head stock.  The piece in between all the gears is the clutch I spoke of earlier.  The crank shifts the clutch forward and backward to lock into one of the bevel gears.  Doing so it is able to control the direction of the carriage.H53

The main gear box contains a bunch of gears that determine how fast the carriage moves forward.  All of the gears ride the lead screw.  Once the threaded collar was removed the lead screw could be moved forward allowing the gears to drop off one by one.

H54

Finally, I have the lathe down to just the big castings left to be disassembled.  H55

This entry was posted in Restoration, Tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hendey Lathe Disassembly: Part 2

  1. Zach says:

    Hello. I’d like to thank you for the detail in your posts as well as the great photos. I’m neither a machinist or into restoration, but stumbled in here trying to learn about shims, spacers, and collars. What I found was a really well put together before & after walk through that helped me gain a greater appreciation for your work. Thank you.

  2. I really enjoyed your article, thank you for the useful content.

Leave a Reply

