Estate Saling

I hit up an estate sale and a store that sells estate items today.  I found some neat things that I thought I’d share.

I picked up some old Delta items from the store.  The first, pictured below, is a Delta 6″ dado set.  I probably won’t use it because I have another dado set, but I thought it was neat. So, I grabbed it anyways.  It’s all steel, no carbide, and the spaces are made of paper.  It’s a little different than what we have these days.  It’s a Delta catalogue number 333.

DS1

There were a few old 10″ table saw blades there that didn’t have carbide tips.  I passed most of them but grabbed this Delta one.  I thought I’d look neat hanging on the wall once I cleaned it up. This is a Delta catalogue number 1015.

DS2

I used some oil and 0000 steel wool and it cleaned up nicely.  There’s still some darkening from the rust but it just adds character.

DS3

Next, I picked up a few band saw blades for my 14″ band saw.  They range from 3/16″ up to 3/4″.  I don’t know that I’ll ever run the 3/4″ blade but I have it just in case.

DS4

Most of the blades looked practically brand new.  A few have some rust building on them but for the price I don’t care.  These are regular steel blades but should last me for a long time.  At least until I get a bigger band saw!

DS5

The estate sale I went to had some wood working items.  The owner had a basic shop in the garage of his house.  He appears to have made acoustic guitars based on some of the jigs I saw laying around.  It would have been interesting to see the results of his work.  There was a nice looking large Jet band saw but it was out of my price range so I didn’t look to closely at it least it grab the credit card out of my wallet.  That can happen.  So, you have to be on the look out.  I did pick up a Bosch hammer drill in good shape.  I’ve had my eye out for a hammer drill.   I think this brings to total number of drill in my shop up to….well, it’s a bunch.DS6

I also picked up this kukri.  I can’t read the name of the maker but its a pretty solid knife.

DS7

Finally, I picked up a few pieces of figured Walnut.  These are about 3/8″ thick and around 24″ long.

DS8That’s all for today…but the flea market is tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Woodworking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

