Small Table

I was asked to build a table with specified external dimensions for use in the laundry room at home.  It needs to be 32″ wide, 35.75″ tall, and 10.5″ deep.  It will also be painted which means the wood type doesn’t matter much.  So, I sketched something out on the computer that fit the bill and hopefully doesn’t look too bad.  The height compared to the width and depth makes for a spindly design.

Here’s the sketch I made of the table.  The final piece came out pretty close to what I’ve drawn here.

ST0

I decided to make the legs out of cheap pine 2x4s.  The first thing to do was to cut them to length using the miter saw.

ST1

 

Next, I cleaned up an edge using the table saw and then cut the four legs to 2.5″ wide.

ST2

 

I thought some tapering of the legs would look nice and keep them from looking so blocky.  I used a 0.5″ taper on the front and a 0.25″ taper on the sides of the legs.  The taper  on the front of the legs stands out but the taper on the sides is to small to really be noticed.  It probably wasn’t worth the trouble to do the side taper.  The taper jig I have is a simple one I made a couple years ago.  It is hinged at one end and the knob allows you to lock it in whatever position you want.

ST3

 

After the tapers were cut, I cleaned the legs up with my No. 5 plane.  It quickly removed any saw marks and burning that was left on the legs.

ST4

 

Around some of the knot holes I used my cabinet scraper.  The scraper does better on tricky grain than my plane does.

ST5

 

I used my plane again to chamfer the edges of the legs.

ST6

 

Happy with the table legs, I turned my attention to the table’s apron.  They were cut out of a piece of 3/4″ plywood I had laying around.  To attach them to the legs, I took the easy way out and used my Kreg pocket hole jig.  ST7

 

All the pieces were aligned vertically by pressing them against a piece of wood (not shown).  The apron segment was inset by 1/2″ using a piece of scrap as a spacer.  The assembly was then clamped and screwed together.

ST8

 

A similar process was use to attach the longer apron pieces to the legs.

ST9

 

To attach the table top to the legs and apron I used pocket hole screws again.  Normally, you would never want to directly attach a table top to the rest of the table.  A table top made of strips of regular wood will expand and contract.  Rigidly attaching it would result in something possible cracking due to the movement.  For my small table, the table top and apron are made of plywood which does not expand or contract.  Here’s a picture of the finished table.  I’ll paint it…sometime.

ST10

This entry was posted in Projects, Woodworking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

