Saturn V: S-IVB

I made some more progress on my wooden Saturn V rocket.  I worked on making the third stage known as the S-IVB ( pronounced S4B).

Here’s the picture from NASA showing the section this post is about.  This stage of the Saturn V was responsible for putting the CSM and LM in earth orbit and, later on, pushing them towards the moon.

S4B_1

As before, I glued up a couple blocks of Pine 2×4.

S4B_2

The block was roughed out into a cylinder and important locations marked out with pencil.  To allow the tenon on the bottom of the LM & IM section, I spoke about in the previous post, to fit in this stage, I turned a pocket in the end of the piece.  Once happy with the fit, the tail stock was moved back in to support the piece while turning.

S4B_3

To get the diameter of the stage to fit my previous piece I turned the speed up and took fine passes with a skew chisel.  I’d then check the size and take another pass or two if needed.  After a bit, the correct diameter was reached.  The technique using the skew left a better surface than could be obtained with a scraper or gouge.

S4B_4

I couldn’t decide if I wanted to make the rocket nozzle a separate piece or not.  I feared it might be too small and cause the rest of the piece to fly off.  In the end, I decided to try turning it as one piece.  In the picture below I’ve started removing material where the nozzle is.

S4B_5

I continued to take the diameter down around the nozzle and then worked on the angled transition from the nozzle to the rest of the stage.

S4B_6

Once the transition was finished I started working the nozzle.  I left the structure between the nozzle and the sloped section thicker than in the drawing so the nozzle wouldn’t break off.S4B_7

Next up was some light sanding to 220 grit and then I carefully parted the stage off.   Here’s the finished piece sitting on top of the drawing I used for it and a ruler.S4B_8

Here’s all the stages together.S4B_9

To give a sense of size, here’s the completed parts of the Saturn V next to the Titan II and Gemini capsule I previously turned.  They’re all the same scale.

S4B_10

Next up, the bigger stages.

This entry was posted in Projects, Woodworking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

