Roadside Pickup

One of the great things about turning wood is that you can use trash.  By trash I mean wood that folks have set out on the curb to be picked up by the garbageman and taken to…wherever.  Luckily one of my coworkers saw a pile of bucked (cut up into short lengths) wood and brush on his way to work.  He let another coworker who turns and me know so I stopped by to pick it up after work.  As you can see from the picture below it was a pretty good find.  Half of it I’ll keep and the other half will go to my coworker.

The nearby brush made it easy to identify the wood as Southern Magnolia.  I split a piece and planed it to check out the grain.  The wood looks like it’ll be nice when made into turnings.

This entry was posted in Woodworking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

