Clausing Drill Press: Small Parts

Here’s another post on the drill press.  I’ll skip the tear down of the machine since it’s just removing nuts, bolts, screws, and snap rings. I will cover how I’m cleaning things up though.  This post is on cleaning up some of the smaller parts.

I don’t know where this drill press worked previously but it was somewhere with some pretty tough adhesive.  Here’s a picture of the chuck with the adhesive on it.

It didn’t stand much chance against a wire wheel chucked in my small drill press.  Yes, you can chuck the wire wheel up in a regular drill so you don’t need a drill press to restore a drill press.  Here’s a picture after cleanup.  I’ve since filed down the burr.

Below are some pics of the Reeves pulley that are pretty rusty.  I probably could have wirewheeled them as well but instead chose to use electrolysis.

Here’s a couple of the pulley halves in the electrolysis tub.  I use baking soda and an old battery charger.  Leave them in there for an afternoon and they’ll clean right up.

When you remove items from the electrolysis tub they’re coated in a black gunk that is primarily iron powder.  This is shown on the left side in the picture.  A light pass with the wire wheel removes it easily leaving a clean surface as shown on the right side.

This process was repeated on all the pulleys and they cleaned up well.  The one on the top right could have used a little bit more cleaning but it’ll be ok.  Once they’re cleaned up you want to oil, wax, or use some other protectant to keep them from rusting again.  The small dark spots comes from where the rust has eaten into the surface  The larger holes are where the pulleys have been drilled to balance them.

There are six handles with knobs on the machine.  Three lower the quill and the others vary the RPM of the drill press.  The easiest way I’ve found to clean small round things is to lightly chuck them in the drill press and use sand paper to remove the rust.  Here’s a picture of one of the handles that varies the RPM in the drill press.  A little 220 – 400 grit sandpaper will clean them up nicely.

Here’s the finished handles.  I polished the plastic knobs using some Mag and Aluminum polish.  They cleaned up well despite not having a smooth surface initially.

Well thats it for now.  I’ll post again in a little bit about cleaning up the bigger cast iron parts.

 

Be sure to check out my other posts on restoring the Clausing drill press! Ups and Downs  Stripping and Painting  Reassembly

This entry was posted in Restoration, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Clausing Drill Press: Small Parts

  1. Steve says:

    I have an old drill press. The chuck and shaft fell out today. It looks like a part is missing but I can’t figure out how it would have vanished from inside the shaft. I don’t see how the shaft is held inside the housing without an additional part. It is an old ingeram model dp 16ft made in 1987. Any ideas?

    • davidjbod says:

      Usually the chuck and shaft are retained by something on top of the top bearing that is between the shaft and quill. On my Clausing, there is a collar with a set screw in it. On other designs, some kind of retaining ring has been used. Look to see if you see anything above the top bearing that might clue you in as how the spindle is retained. I looked up the name of your drill press but was unable to find any info on it so I can’t offer more specific help.

  2. Hello,
    I need a flat coiled return spring for my Variable Speed Clausing model #
    Is it posisble to repair the existing spring i.e. rebend a holding arc in it?
    Are there other brands to scarf from?
    Clausing’s price is out of my budget.
    thanks
    mickey

    • davidjbod says:

      Mickey,
      I haven’t tried this myself but I’ve heard that you can heat the end of the spring to red and let it cool down on its own. After this you should be able to bend it without breaking the spring. Another thing would be to rivet another piece onto the broke end. If all those fail, you might be able to find a spring company and purchase a new one from them. McMaster-Carr seems to have some if you search for “constant force springs” on their site. Clausing’s design allows you to adjust the spring tension so an exact replacement isn’t really needed. Yeah, I found out the same thing you did about Clausing’s parts. They’re available but they sure make you pay for them.

      Good luck,
      David

Leave a Reply

