A Blog Devoted to my Many Hobbies

Stanley No. 4 1/2 Plane

Posted by davidjbod on September 4, 2013

I picked up a old hand plane at a flea market / antique store yesterday.  It’s a Stanley No. 4 1/2 plane.  No, it’s not a broken No. 5.  The No. 4 1/2 is a wider version of the more frequently seen No. 4 smoothing plane.  I’m not sure if the concept for the No. 4 1/2 was an answer in search of a problem but I I didn’t have one.  Now I do.  I haven’t rehabbed it yet but will sometime soon.   I’m not 100% sure what type it is and believe it may be a mix of a type 16 and 17.  It has a plastic adjustment knob which puts it in the WW2 era.   Here’s a couple pics of it.

 

SP1

SP2

SP3

SP4

 

Here’s a picture of it next to the regular No. 4.  As you can see, it is a little bit wider.

SP5

Stay tuned for post on cleaning it up sometime in the future!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

